She might just find Harvard to be easy!


Giving you and myself a break from the Hide and Seek series, I came across a unique story of this girl and I wanted to share it with you. It’s a powerful read for anyone who wants to instill some “gas” in them to achieve their goals. I will share an example with you. Only yesterday, I went to the store to get groceries that I didn’t need. I bought some things that I am sure I will not sure in next three months. And rest of the things, I might not use till end of this year, however I still bought it. I spent almost 22 bucks for all of it.

You will say, it is a common habit of buying more than you need, because we live in such a consumerist society where buying and more buying is encouraged. Could be true

Another true reason is that since I had the change to buy it and the absence of this much money is not going to hurt me in any discernible way in short or long-term, I bought it.

Think about it.

Now think about a girl who is a janitor at her own high school because she was abandoned by her parents and doesn’t have a roof above her head when she is going to be done with the classes each day. Her house has an eviction notice due to non-payment of bills. Yet she is straight A student in the Cleveland county’s high school. Yet she got accepted to four schools for her college education on full scholarship. Yet she rejected them and chose Harvard admit (with full scholarship and more grants for housing, food and books and an on campus job) and went to a school that no one has ever gone to from her high school ever!

That’s powerful.

Massachusetts Hall, Harvard University, Cambri...
Massachusetts Hall, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Read about her story here (CNN link – http://www.cnn.com/2012/06/07/us/from-janitor-to-harvard/) If you feel moved as much as I am, and want to help her like I did, please use the following information and help her

Dawn appreciates the generosity. She wants to use funds to form a nonprofit organization to help other homeless children. Any contributions can be sent to: Burns High School/Dawn Loggins Fund, 307 East Stagecoach Trail, Lawndale, NC 28090″

Leave a Reply

